Archive: Reports & Technical Papers


The United Kingdom and Gibraltar European Union membership referendum, and the common security and defense policy in Europe

"United Kingdom and Gibraltar European Union membership referendum could jeopardize 100,000 jobs in Germany," was one of the headlines of the daily press in recent months. While the economic consequences of a possible withdrawal of Britain from the EU are widely discussed, the consequences for security in Europe are hardly noticed. In contrast, time and again - most recently in connection with the termination of the INF Treaty - [...]

Hope dies last - Comment March 2019

But we must not fool ourselves: has been banned in Europe, the INF Treaty, the nuclear medium-range missiles, will not return. Politicians need to be prepared that they must close again the vulnerability that arises there. Several aspects are interesting: Nuclear medium-range missiles with a range of 500 km are weapons in Europe almost all [...]

Security Conference 2019 - eloquent speechlessness

Ambassador Wolfgang Ischinger, Chairman of the Munich Security Conference, returned to the beginnings of this event. The first of these conferences convened under the name Wehrkundetagung 1,963th She was then lifted out of the baptism of the publisher Ewald von Kleist and US Senator Edward Teller. The two friendly men met again at carnival time in Munich. Plate […]



United Kingdom and Gibraltar European Union membership referendum - or the three question marks

At the opening of the Munich Security Conference Wolfgang Ischinger put a strong signal: He joined the EU hooded sweatshirt on stage - but lacked the Europe Signet 12th star. Thus, the chairman of the Munich Security Conference referred to the core theme of the first day: the United Kingdom and Gibraltar European Union membership referendum. However, the statements and discussions brought little answers to urgent questions that [...]

Farewell to multilateralism - The uncomfortable looking for Germany's role in the world

Actually it is about a matter of course: cooperative and mutually profitable action at the intergovernmental level. But the Munich Security Conference in 2019 showed that this alleged matter of course no longer exists - and must be laboriously fought for them. National interest allegations, great power rivalries, geostrategy and rapid technological developments are leading to growing security risks. With the termination of the INF treaty by the US [...]

End of an era? - The termination of the INF Treaty and the future of arms control

One of the pieces of the international order, which was considered at this year's Munich Security Conference with particular concern was the arms control policy. Specific reason for this was the termination of the INF Treaty. The impending collapse of this central support pillar of European security architecture and arms control themed a number of key speakers at this year's conference. Detail the consequences were discussed [...]



Two American guest in Munich

That the anti-European rhetoric of US President Donald Trump of politicians in Europe is viewed with great incomprehension and disapproval, has spread to Washington. So it was a clear statement of the Euro-Atlantic cooperation that the delegation of the US Congress to the Munich Security Conference was as big as ever. This is therefore particularly noteworthy [...]

Momentum Hope - Greece and Northern Macedonia, for example, successful diplomacy for the region

The Western Balkan countries are becoming increasingly foreign and security policy relevance. Two discussions of the main program of this year's Munich Security Conference were then dedicated to the Greco-Macedonian and the Serbian-Kosovo relations. In his welcoming speech raised Wolfgang Ischinger, the two Prime Ministers of Greece, Alexis Tsipras, and Nordmazedoniens, Zoran Zaev, as examples of successful diplomacy out: "We celebrate ... the achievement of [...]

Middle East - The list of conflicts is long, short of the solutions

The Middle East region is for decades the focus of the Munich Security Conference. The list of conflicts remains constant in length. The tensions between the actors are deep and stuck. have dedicated themselves to many speakers on the first two days of the conference of the region, the third day was reserved exclusively for the Middle East. In the center stood [...]



"Find a way to the security interests and humanitarian considerations brings together" - Interview with the Head of Department policy in the Federal Ministry of Defense, Dr. Géza Andreas von Geyr

Interview with the Head of Policy in the German Ministry of Defense, Dr. Géza Andreas von Geyr ES & T: Lord of Geyr, the Munich Security Conference has yet drawn a very rigid view of international security policy, with harsh statements and little room for maneuver. Currently operates security policy nothing? From Geyr: Well, I agree with you: There were a number of submissions in [...]

We manage ourselves to death, the soldiers - Berlin Prisma March 2019

Considerable discomfort might have been prepared for the Defense Department, the annual report of the Commissioner of the Bundestag, the Hans-Peter Bartels (SPD) presented on 29 January. For in the meantime already the 60th annual report of a military officer standing this time the "structural aspects of the current Bundeswehr problems" in the foreground after the financial situation has improved. Bartels noted once again the lack of management in materials [...]

New power ambitions in the Indo-Pacific

France and Britain are planning to expand their influence in the Indo-Pacific. But the resilience of their strategic concepts is questionable. For Germany, they pose two problems. French aircraft carrier "Charles de Gaulle" is currently being prepared final to break in spring in the Indo-Pacific. The UK plans to send its new carrier "Queen Elizabeth" maiden voyage in 2021 to Asia. Paris and London want [...]



Elysée Treaty 2 - Aachen contract

The new agreement "about the Franco-German cooperation and integration", which was signed on 22 January in the Coronation Hall of Aachen Town Hall inaugurated by German Chancellor Angela Merkel and French President Emmanuel Macron - where 1,200 years ago the palace of Charlemagne was - would have deserved a better start. On Day 56 years after [...]

China on the road to world power - challenge the US global power

China's global economic and military rise is progressing apace. The country with over 1.3 billion people (nearly one-fifth of mankind) has reached the ascent to the second largest economy after the US (320 million inhabitants). According to all forecasts, it will overtake the US by 2032 as the strongest economy in the world. Militarily, China is the second largest [...]

Strategic raw materials Europe - Raw material provisioning and security needs of the revaluation

The defense technology and defense industry in Europe is, like most other areas of the manufacturing and processing industry, dependent on a secured and envisaged long-term supply of mineral and metal commodities. Not only the supply of energy resources - oil and gas - raises questions about its availability, as most critical classified commodities - here particularly metal raw materials - [...]



International relevance of the IDEX 2019

On Sunday, the IDEX 2019, one of the biggest arms fairs in the world begins in Abu Dhabi. To their importance for German industry IT & T editor Dorothee Frank in the notification letter wrote Army of the Supporting Deutsches Heer (FKH). We document this post courtesy of FKH. From 17 to 21 February 2019 will take place in Abu Dhabi [...]

We would like to once clear guidelines, where the journey - Interview with Dr. Tobias Lindner MP

Interview with Dr. Tobias Lindner MP, spokesman for security policy and, among other things chairman of the parliamentary group Alliance 90 / The Greens in the Defense Committee. ES & T: Mr. Lindner, what in your view are currently the biggest security challenges? Lindner: There are - quite specifically - an increasing number of construction sites. In Europe, we need to east, look to Russia. [...]

Cumulatively - Berlin prism

A committee of inquiry to "consultant affair" in the Defense Department remained defense minister Ursula von der Leyen (CDU) for the time being spared on 16 January. The coalition parties and the AFD made the request of the political groups FDP, the Left and Alliance 90 / The Greens on the constitution of the Defense Committee as a committee of inquiry pursuant to Art. 45a para of the Basic Law for consideration to the Standing Orders Committee. 2nd For [...]



Syria deduction: Can or the EU wants to fill the gap left by the United States?

With the abrupt, however, long been looming announcement to withdraw its troops from Syria, brought US President Donald Trump in the world a dubious Christmas gift that caused a criticism and lack of understanding. Meanwhile, the first units of the 2,000-strong contingent should have begun with the withdrawal. With this announcement, the Western world attracts fact of [...]

The Syrian withdrawal and the consequences in the region

After a telephone conversation with his Turkish counterpart Recep TayyipErdoğan US President Donald J. Trump tweeted on December 14 that he would pull the 2,000-strong US troops from Syria "soon". It is unnecessary that the US aufspielten as "policeman of the Middle East". The US commitment would only cost precious human lives and many billions of dollars, said [...]

Syria deduction: Realpolitik on the decline

The American President Donald Trump operates more than before the withdrawal of US forces from Syria and Afghanistan without having a sound succession strategy for the enforcement of Western stability interests. This applies to the Europeans right that must watch helplessly as the American partner withdraws from arrangements that are vital for their safety. The American withdrawal from the [...]




Search / filter

Search for words or phrases, headings, or a period:

Partners & ads

For information about online ad or options in issue expenses in our Media data.

Archiv: Meldungen & Fachbeiträge


Der Brexit und die Gemeinsame Sicherheits- und Verteidigungspolitik Europas

„Brexit könnte 100.000 Arbeitsplätze in Deutschland gefährden“, war eine der Schlagzeilen der Tagespresse in den vergangenen Monaten. Während die wirtschaftlichen Folgen eines möglichen Ausscheidens Großbritanniens aus der EU breit diskutiert werden, werden die Folgen für die Sicherheit in Europa kaum wahrgenommen. Demgegenüber werden immer wieder – zuletzt im Zusammenhang mit der Aufkündigung des INF-Vertrages – […]

Die Hoffnung stirbt zuletzt – Kommentar März 2019

Aber wir dürfen uns nichts vormachen: Der INF-Vertrag, der nukleare Mittelstreckenraketen in Europa verboten hat, wird nicht wiederkehren. Die Politiker müssen sich darauf einstellen, dass sie die Sicherheitslücke, die da entsteht, wieder schließen müssen. Dabei sind mehrere Aspekte interessant: Nukleare Mittelstreckenraketen mit einer Reichweite von über 500 km sind Waffen, die in Europa fast alle […]

Sicherheitskonferenz 2019 – beredte Sprachlosigkeit

Botschafter Wolfgang Ischinger, Vorsitzender der Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz, kehrte zu den Anfängen dieser Veranstaltung zurück. Die erste dieser Konferenzen trat unter dem Namen Wehrkundetagung 1963 zusammen. Sie wurde damals von dem Verleger Ewald von Kleist und dem US-Senator Edward Teller aus der Taufe gehoben. Die beiden befreundeten Herren trafen sich einmal zur Faschingszeit in München. Teller […]



Brexit – oder die drei Fragezeichen

Bei der Eröffnung der Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz setzte Wolfgang Ischinger ein starkes Signal: Er trat im EU-Kapuzenpulli auf die Bühne – allerdings fehlte dem Europasignet der 12. Stern. Damit verwies der Vorsitzende der Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz auf das Kernthema des ersten Konferenztages: den Brexit. Allerdings brachten die Statements und Diskussionen nur wenig Antworten auf drängende Fragen, die […]

Abschied vom Multilateralismus – Die unbequeme Suche nach Deutschlands Rolle in der Welt

Eigentlich geht es um etwas Selbstverständliches: kooperatives und beidseitig gewinnbringendes Handeln auf zwischenstaatlicher Ebene. Doch die Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz 2019 zeigte, dass diese vermeintliche Selbstverständlichkeit nicht mehr existiert – und mühsam um sie gekämpft werden muss. Nationale Interessensbehauptungen, Großmachtrivalitäten, Geostrategie und rasante technologische Entwicklungen führen zu wachsenden Sicherheitsrisiken. Mit der Aufkündigung des INF-Vertrages durch die USA […]

Das Ende einer Ära? – Die Kündigung des INF-Vertrags und die Zukunft der Rüstungskontrolle

  Eines der Puzzleteile der internationalen Ordnung, das bei der diesjährigen Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz mit besonderer Besorgnis betrachtet wurde, war die Rüstungskontrollpolitik. Konkreter Anlass dafür war die Kündigung des INF-Vertrags. Den drohenden Kollaps dieses zentralen Stützpfeilers europäischer Sicherheitsarchitektur und der Rüstungskontrolle thematisierten eine ganze Reihe von Schlüsselredner der diesjährigen Konferenz. Ausführlicher diskutiert wurden die Konsequenzen für […]



Zwei Amerikas zu Gast in München

Dass die europafeindliche Rhetorik von US-Präsident Donald Trump von Politikern in Europa mit großem Unverständnis und Missfallen betrachtet wird, hat sich bis nach Washington herumgesprochen. So war es schon ein klares Statement für die euro-atlantische Zusammenarbeit, dass die Delegation des US-Kongresses zur Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz so groß war wie nie zuvor. Das ist deswegen besonders bemerkenswert, […]

Momentum Hoffnung – Griechenland und Nordmazedonien werden zum Beispiel erfolgreicher Diplomatie für eine ganze Region

Die Länder des Westbalkans gewinnen zunehmend an außen- und sicherheitspolitischer Relevanz. Gleich zwei Diskussionen des Hauptprogramms der diesjährigen Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz waren den griechisch-mazedonischen und anschließend den serbisch-kosovarischen Beziehungen gewidmet. In seiner Begrüßungsrede hob Wolfgang Ischinger die beiden Premierminister Griechenlands, Alexis Tsipras, und Nordmazedoniens, Zoran Zaev, als Beispiele gelungener Diplomatie hervor: „Wir feiern … die Errungenschaft […]

Naher Osten – Die Liste der Konflikte ist lang, die der Lösungen kurz

Die Region des Nahen Ostens steht schon seit Jahrzehnten im Fokus der Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz. Die Liste der Konflikte bleibt konstant lang. Die Spannungen zwischen den Akteuren sind tief und festgefahren. Widmeten sich schon viele Redner an den ersten beiden Konferenztagen der Region, war der dritte Tag komplett für den Nahen Osten reserviert. Im Zentrum standen […]



“Einen Weg finden, der sicherheitspolitische Interessen und humanitäre Erwägungen zusammenbringt” – Interview mit dem Abteilungsleiter Politik im BMVg, Dr. Géza Andreas von Geyr

Interview mit dem Abteilungsleiter Politik im Bundesministerium der Verteidigung, Dr. Géza Andreas von Geyr ES&T: Herr von Geyr, die Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz hat doch ein sehr starres Bild der internationalen Sicherheitspolitik gezeichnet, mit harten Aussagen und wenig Spielraum. Bewegt sich gegenwärtig sicherheitspolitisch nichts? Von Geyr: Also, ich stimme Ihnen zu: Es gab eine Vielzahl von Einlassungen, die in […]

Wir verwalten uns zu Tode, so die Soldaten – Berliner Prisma März 2019

Erhebliches Unbehagen dürfte dem Verteidigungsministerium der Jahresbericht des Wehrbeauftragten des Bundestages bereitet haben, den Hans-Peter Bartels (SPD) am 29. Januar vorstellte. Denn in dem mittlerweile schon 60. Jahresbericht eines Wehrbeauftragten stehen diesmal die „strukturellen Aspekte der aktuellen Bundeswehrprobleme“ im Vordergrund, nachdem sich die Finanzlage verbessert hat. So vermerkt Bartels einmal mehr die Mangelbewirtschaftung im Materialbereich […]

Neue Machtambitionen im Indo-Pazifik

Frankreich und Großbritannien planen, ihren Einfluss im Indo-Pazifik auszuweiten. Doch die Belastbarkeit ihrer Strategiekonzepte ist fraglich. Für Deutschland bergen sie zwei Probleme. Frankreichs Flugzeugträger „Charles de Gaulle“ wird zurzeit final gerüstet, um im Frühjahr in den Indopazifik aufzubrechen. Auch Großbritannien plant, seinen neuen Träger „Queen Elizabeth“ zur Jungfernfahrt 2021 nach Asien zu schicken. Paris wie London wollen […]



Elysée-Vertrag 2 – der Aachener Vertrag

Der neue Vertrag „über die deutsch-französische Zusammenarbeit und Integration“, der am 22. Januar im Krönungssaal des Aachener Rathauses feierlich von Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel und Frankreichs Staatspräsidenten Emmanuel Macron unterzeichnet wurde – dort, wo vor 1.200 Jahren der Palast Karls des Großen stand – hätte einen besseren Start verdient gehabt. Auf den Tag 56 Jahre, nachdem […]

China auf dem Weg zur Weltmacht – Herausforderung der Weltmacht USA

Chinas globaler wirtschaftlicher und militärischer Aufstieg schreitet ungebremst voran. Das Land mit über 1,3 Milliarden Menschen (fast ein Fünftel der Menschheit) hat den Aufstieg zur zweitstärksten Volkswirtschaft nach den USA (320 Millionen Einwohner) erreicht. Allen Prognosen nach wird es die USA bis 2032 als stärkste Wirtschaftsmacht der Welt ablösen. Auch militärisch ist China als zweitgrößte […]

Strategische Rohstoffe Europas – Rohstoffvorsorge und -sicherheit bedarf der Neubewertung

Die wehrtechnische und Verteidigungsindustrie Europas ist, wie die meisten anderen Bereiche der produzierenden und verarbeitenden Industrie, abhängig von einer gesicherten und auf Langfristigkeit angelegten Versorgung mit mineralischen und Metallrohstoffen. Nicht nur die Versorgung mit Energierohstoffen – Öl und Gas – wirft Fragen zu deren Verfügbarkeit auf, denn die meisten als kritisch eingestuften Rohstoffe – hier besonders Metallrohstoffe – […]



Internationale Relevanz der IDEX 2019

Am Sonntag beginnt in Abu Dhabi die IDEX 2019, eine der größten Rüstungsmessen der Welt. Zu ihrer Bedeutung für die deutsche Industrie hat ES&T-Redakteurin Dorothee Frank im Info-Brief Heer des Förderkreises Deutsches Heer (FKH)  geschrieben. Wir dokumentieren diesen Beitrag mit freundlicher Genehmigung des FKH. Vom 17. bis zum 21. Februar 2019 findet in Abu Dhabi […]

Wir hätten mal gern klare Vorgaben, wohin die Reise geht – Interview mit Dr. Tobias Lindner MdB

Interview mit Dr. Tobias Lindner MdB, Sprecher für Sicherheitspolitik und unter anderem Obmann der Bundestagsfraktion Bündnis 90/Die Grünen im Verteidigungsausschuss. ES&T: Herr Lindner, was sind aus Ihrer Sicht im Moment die größten sicherheitspolitischen Herausforderungen? Lindner: Es gibt – ganz konkret – eine zunehmende Anzahl von Baustellen. In Europa müssen wir nach Osten, nach Russland schauen. […]

Aufgelaufen – Berliner Prisma

Ein Untersuchungsausschuss zur „Berater-Affäre“ im Verteidigungsministerium blieb Verteidigungsministerin Ursula von der Leyen (CDU) am 16. Januar einstweilen erspart. Die Koalitionsparteien und die AfD verwiesen den Antrag der Fraktionen FDP, Die Linke und Bündnis 90/Die Grünen auf die Konstituierung des Verteidigungsausschusses als Untersuchungsausschuss gemäß Art. 45a Abs. 2 des Grundgesetzes zur Prüfung an den Geschäftsordnungsausschuss. Zur […]



Syrien-Abzug: Kann oder will die EU die von den USA hinterlassene Lücke füllen?

Mit der abrupten, sich jedoch schon länger abzeichnenden Ankündigung, seine Truppen aus Syrien abzuziehen, bescherte US-Präsident Donald Trump der Welt ein zweifelhaftes Weihnachtsgeschenk, das für Kritik und Unverständnis sorgte. Inzwischen sollen erste Einheiten des ca. 2.000 Mann starken Kontingents mit dem Abzug begonnen haben. Mit dieser Ankündigung zieht sich die westliche Welt de facto vom […]

Der Syrien-Ausstieg und die Folgen in der Region

Nach einem Telefongespräch mit seinem türkischen Amtskollegen Recep TayyipErdoğan twitterte US-Präsident Donald J. Trump am 14. Dezember, dass er die rund 2.000 Mann starken US-Truppen aus Syrien „rasch“ abziehen werde. Es sei unnötig, dass sich die USA als „Polizist des Mittleren Ostens“ aufspielten. Das US-Engagement würde nur wertvolle Menschenleben und viele Milliarden Dollar kosten, meinte […]

Syrien-Abzug: Realpolitik auf dem Rückzug

Der US-amerikanische Präsident Donald Trump arbeitet stärker als zuvor am Rückzug der US-Streitkräfte aus Syrien und Afghanistan, ohne eine solide Nachfolgestrategie zur Durchsetzung westlicher Stabilitätsinteressen zu haben. Das betrifft die Europäer direkt, die ohnmächtig zusehen müssen, wie der amerikanische Partner sich aus Arrangements zurückzieht, die vital für ihre Sicherheit sind. Der amerikanische Abzug aus den […]




Suchmaske / Filter

Suchen Sie nach einzelnen Begriffen, Rubriken oder einem Zeitraum:

Partner & Anzeigen

Informationen zur online Anzeigenschaltung oder Optionen in Heftausgaben finden Sie in unseren Media Daten.